Bmw 523 & Audi A6

TEE

Hi,

I'd like to hear all comments (good & bad) on E60 523i & A6 2.4.

Which do you guys think is the better of the two in terms of reliability, handling, consumption, servicing, resale value, comfort, etc?

Anyone existing / previous owner pls comment.

Many Thanks!!

Re: Bmw 523 & Audi A6

bro, the best thing is to test drive both of the car first. Then u can feel it on ur own.
cheers!!

Just test drove the A6 on Sat. Like you, am thinking of either the 523 or the A6.

Verdict -- I would go for the A6 as I think it represents much better value overall.

It's impeccably well built, great looks, it's larger and roomier than the 523, it's got cruise control, auto rear blinds, F/R parking sensors which you can see on the MMI screen, manual rear seat blinds, 7 speed, paddle shifts, and the list of specs just goes on and on. The 523 is very basic in comparison, and is more expensive than the A6.

In terms of handling and ride, I am no expert, but my view is that it does NOT lose out to the 523. I was actually surprised by how quick the car was, and even though the steering was light, it gave me enough feedback and feel to make the drive enjoyable. And because of the use of aluminium, the weight of the car is surprising light considering how large the car is. Through the twisties at Jervois, I just had to point the car in a direction and it went - very smoothy, quick and exact.

No disrespect to the BMW, it's a great car, but if I had the $$ now, I would plonk it down in an instand for the latest A6.

I hope this thread doesnt end up like like the previous 323 vs IS250 thread

Agree with tripleM, hope they wun argue until no end.