[E46 question] 2 problems

Leon_s

Hi guys,

I'm an owner of a 2002 318i (prefacelifted model with M43 engine). I've been having these 2 problems since a few months ago.

First problem, knocking/rattling steering wheel (or somewhere inside the steering) when driving over an uneven surfaced road. It's not too bad, but it's enough to annoy me. Sometimes it's followed by a slight knocking (again not all the time) coming from underneath the car. According to E46fanatics fellaz, it is caused by the steering rack coupler that has gone bad. Can anyone justify this? Where can I get the coupler from?

Second problem, my car vibrates a little when doing 100km/h or more. The vibration comes from the center of the car. And only happens at 100km/h or more. Has anyone had the same problem? Mind sharing the cure?

I hope I can find the answer I need..

thanks in advance, guys

Re: [E46 question] 2 problems

hmm i'm not a pro on such things but your first problem may be cause by the power steering? you can do a check on that.

the second problem may be the gearbox or transmission? haha hope it helps. do bring it to a workshop and do a troubleshoot. it may cause a serious problem as time goes by. hope you can settle the problem as soon as possible. :)

Leon_s;375226 said:
Hi guys,

I'm an owner of a 2002 318i (prefacelifted model with M43 engine). I've been having these 2 problems since a few months ago.

First problem, knocking/rattling steering wheel (or somewhere inside the steering) when driving over an uneven surfaced road. It's not too bad, but it's enough to annoy me. Sometimes it's followed by a slight knocking (again not all the time) coming from underneath the car. According to E46fanatics fellaz, it is caused by the steering rack coupler that has gone bad. Can anyone justify this? Where can I get the coupler from?