Hi NEWBIE & QUESTIONS

Neptunee33

Hi,

Me, the newbie here...:wavey:

Do you experience brake problem with your BMW after going overseas for 1 week without starting the engine ?
Any ideas to prevent brake dust / rust ?

I change the brake pad and brake discs but still have the squeezing sound...any idea what is going on ? :helpp!:

Re: Hi NEWBIE & QUESTIONS

I would recommend asking ur friend/gf/bf/parents to help start ur car at least once every 2/3 days.. keep the engine running..

Of course I've also heard pple who go overseas for a month w/o starting their car, also no problem

silencer162;501928 said:
I would recommend asking ur friend/gf/bf/parents to help start ur car at least once every 2/3 days.. keep the engine running..

Of course I've also heard pple who go overseas for a month w/o starting their car, also no problem

Personal experience here. I own a 1988 BMW M3 in the US, unfortunately, I live in Singapore now and cannot bear to sell my car. I have my father start up and cruise the car about every month or so.

Well, my father decided to get lazy and not drive my car around for over a year, I went back home in November to cruise the M and found that my brake rotors (all 4 of them) had warped due to the changes in temp in Chicago and my father not driving it around. To make a long story short, it ended up costing me US$1500 to replace all 4 rotors. :(

The moral of the story...drive your cars...they need to be driven!

Neptunee33;501711 said:
Hi,

Do you experience brake problem with your BMW after going overseas for 1 week without starting the engine ?

I change the brake pad and brake discs but still have the squeezing sound...any idea what is going on ? :helpp!:

Bro, no problem with my BMW at all, for 1 week. Be it E36, E46 or E90.
How to prevent brake dust/rust: don't brake. Ok, just kidding. Just get pads with less dusts loh.