Need help on air con & oil problem

BMWme

Hi Bros,

My E36 has 2 issues and hopefully can get some valuable opinions on identifying the problem.

First the oil change message lights up just below the RPM gauge but it goes out after a few seconds.
I am using synthetic oil and only ran 4000 km after the last oil change.
I read that BMW's program will take into account the oil temperature, driving style etc to determine when to change the oil but I think I had been driving the same since I got the car 3 years ago and this is the first time I encountered this message. Any thoughts?

Secondly, on a separate note, there is a high pitch, sound that is coming when I turn the air con on at speed 2.
At speed 3 and 4 or when the air con is off, the sound goes off
At speed 1, the sound is intermittent
Is it the fan belt? Blower motor? Compressor?

Appreciate your thoughts.

Re: Need help on air con & oil problem

BMWme;1100521 said:
Hi Bros,

My E36 has 2 issues and hopefully can get some valuable opinions on identifying the problem.

First the oil change message lights up just below the RPM gauge but it goes out after a few seconds.
I am using synthetic oil and only ran 4000 km after the last oil change.
I read that BMW's program will take into account the oil temperature, driving style etc to determine when to change the oil but I think I had been driving the same since I got the car 3 years ago and this is the first time I encountered this message. Any thoughts?

Secondly, on a separate note, there is a high pitch, sound that is coming when I turn the air con on at speed 2.
At speed 3 and 4 or when the air con is off, the sound goes off
At speed 1, the sound is intermittent
Is it the fan belt? Blower motor? Compressor?

Appreciate your thoughts.