Using 3 - 5mm spacers

Alpinze

Hi to all,

Just wondering anyone here has experience using thin spacers on their ride. I am currently on 20 inch rims and want to obtain the ULTIMATE flush look. I am thinking of using thin spacers on both front and rear. Any serious negative issue.....appreciate all input.

Re: Using 3 - 5mm spacers

3 mm??? wow u r super hardcore man... I have used 12 mm and 20 mm on the rear. Had no problems.
Btw thinniest spacer I come across is 5 mm. Never seen 3 mm. I'm no expert, but just from layman's perspective, I would be concerned about 3 mm. Something that thin cannot be so strong (condoms exempted) unless made from some super duper space age metal???

3 - 5 mm will not "stretch" your wheel lugs (still sufficient bolt thread engagement), so it is fine. Just make sure you have at least 6 full turns on the lug bolts after installation.

Also make sure the spacers are hub-centric. BTW, 3mm spacers are rare, customed?

I came across this on the net and found out that spacers that are between 3 - 5 mm are not hub centric, even if you can get one its really dangerous as they may crack.This is what i found.......

In order to give your BMW a much more aggressive stance while increasing handling, we offer our line of Macht Schnell Competition Spacer Kits.

Machined from 6061-T6 aerospace aluminum, these adapters are strong as well as lightweight to limit unsprung/reciprocating weight for maximum performance on or off the track. Spacer edges are also chamfered to allow for easy installation/removal if needed. After machining, the spacers are then anodized for additional strength, anti-corrosion & wear resistance.

A wider track stance increases lateral stability as well as giving your BMW a much more aggressive appearance after installation. Spacers also are used to correct wheel gap normally seen on otherwise stock suspension setups, pushing the wheels outward - filling the fenders.