E36 Autotransmission - What do the numbers stand for?

matchless

Hi all. First i would like to say that i am a newbie when it comes to cars and bimmers.

Trying to educate myself by reading up but it's hard to acquire years of knowledge in months. :)

Anyway i have a questions. I drive an E36 316i auto. The transmission is as follows:

1, 2, 3, D, N, P

Next to it is a switch:

M(anual), E(conomy), S(port)

I have the manual but it's not very detailed.

Till now, i have been driving on D. And i think it's quite a waste if i don't utilise all the options available to me.

Could anyone explain the gears 1, 2, 3 to me, and in what situations should i use them?

Also, i understand that flicking the switch to S provides for a "sportier drive" (according to the manual). But if i flick the switch to M, how should i use it?

I really appreciate if someone experienced can shed some light on this for me. Thanks guys!

Re: E36 Autotransmission - What do the numbers stand for?

1, 2, 3 is something like your 1st, 2nd,3rd gears

D = Drive
N = Neutral
P = Parking

E(conomy), S(port)
if u need faster acceleration or alot more power, use the S mode (press forward)....higher rpm but high on fc.....quite good for lane change in fast traffic

if u need to go back to normal drive, just press down in the middle

hixhix...im driving an 92 e36 too, first time own a bimmer and first day drive it as well. I dont know its f/c is high or low. But today I fill a full tank of petrol at $106 after discount..howcome it's damn expensive leh hixhix :( so the average f/c of a full tank could last for a week rite? damn...need to save money from eatting to pay for petrol hahaaa :p

mine only last me abt 3 to 4 days.
i'm using 17" rims, aircon usually level 1-2.