Maserati GTS V Audi R8 V8

kenlim

hi, my dad has 2 cars in mind whether to get and R8 or Maser GTS , and we cant decide what to buy. anyone who has driven either help to list out the pros and cons for both cars? =), like resale valve and etc..?

Re: Maserati GTS V Audi R8 V8

R8 is faster, but no sound. GTS slow, but got sound. In terms of resale value, Masers' hold them quite strong. The dep is almost like a 7 or S-class. In terms of driving, I think your dad would prefer the GTS for it's f1-tranny. But note that maintaining it is no joke- every 15k replace clutch $7k. Problem with maser is that in our very humid country, the buttons become sticky and the roof lining gets loose- though it's covered by HSM's warranty. Masers typically have minor problems like seats getting stuck, can't move back, etc. I have no experience with the R8, but I assume that being german, they shouldn't have such problems.

While I still feel that the R8 looks much better than the Maser, the sound of the maser is just too great. I went for a drive with ecc and the owner of one of the lambos (gallardo) commented that the maser was louder that his ride!

And I assume your dad is around 50s? Maser is easier to get in (R8 lower), but Maser doesn't have reverse camera. Nor are the side mirrors integrated to tilt down when you engage reverse- which the R8 has. And if you want to install after-market reverse cameras, HSM will void your warranty *facepalm*. So it may be a little difficult for your dad when he tries to park it (unless he is not used to such electronic aid).

My vote goes to the Maser, partly because I'm a badge-whore. Driving a maser sounds better than driving an audi right? (don't flame me audi owners, haha)

I will pick the R8 coz I think it looks like a real sports car, is fast and wont cost an arm or leg to maintain. As for sound, I wont worry about it. An Audi V8 with an after-market wil do the trick. I hv heard them on S5, RS4 and the R8. All sound awesome.