Thinking of the 523i

Gandalf Fett

I am currently a merz C Class driver but am seriously thinking about changing to the new 523i series with the current deal that they've got going on at Performance Motors but am concerned about the reliability issues with the 523i especially with the reviews that I have read so far and the feedback that I have received from my friends about servicing with Performance Motors. Can anyone help me with some feedback with respect to the 523i and the current deal and whether it's even something worth considering or it's better to wait out a couple more years?

Re: Thinking of the 523i

other than the new valvetronic engine they still working out the bugs... the e60 already in the second year of production. In another couple of years it will be facelifted and include some of the keyless features etc. etc. The only shame is PML is doing away the active steering option on entry model.
Couple of sg chaps we know in the e60.net just got deliveries of the 523i they seem happy!

u buy the 523 but u pay 525 road tax too. no HUD available..some issues with LTA. probably after they get the M5 in.

I checked with the LTA and LTA said that it was already approved....

Yeah true on the road tax but the price difference between the 2 is about 30K and the only thing you get extra is the active steering and adaptive headlights (according to the sales guy at PML) so I'm really not sure.

To me, it is really about trying to get something that is reliable cause I have lost quite a bit of confidence in my current car and I don't want to invest in another car that's going to stay perpetually in the workshop (so to speak).

I am really liking the 5 series which is why I would like to find out more about it.

Thanks a lot guys, any more comments and feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Gandalf Fett said:
but the price difference between the 2 is about 30K and the only thing you get extra is the active steering and adaptive headlights