Help! Whistling noise from E90

fantastic3

Hi people, I am a newbie here. Got this problem with my 3 months old E90. While moving from stationary at between 40km/h-70km/h I have this whistling noise from the rear like a whistling kettle. Its not very loud but very annoying. But after speeds of above 80km/h or so the noise goes away.

Actually got this problem about 1 month after owning the car. I sent to PML they diagnosed it as faulty rear axle .Took them about 3weeks to indent it. I left the car there for 2 days to change the rear axle n testing and finnally got it back. The noise went off for about a week or so but last couple of days its has come back again!

Any bros or sis have the same problem before? Hope the experts here can help.

Thanks

Re: Help! Whistling noise from E90

Any e90 owners out there experiencing the same problem above? Anyway, made appointment next week at PML to have it checked again.Sigh...hope can get it sorted out once and for all. :mad: Will post the outcome next week.

fantastic3 said:
Any e90 owners out there experiencing the same problem above? Anyway, made appointment next week at PML to have it checked again.Sigh...hope can get it sorted out once and for all. :mad: Will post the outcome next week.

used to have some noise from the rear door, but it went off by itself.. so didn't really know what's wrong...

does it come on when you're throttling in, and goes off when you throttle off?

without listening to the sound itself, i hazard there could also be a possibility that the sound comes from your rear differential. If a brand new rear diff is not run-in properly, the contact between the gears could have some give, and it is this tolerance between the gears which are not properly run-in which give off the noise at high speed. It sounds like a high pitched harmonics, pretty much like a whistling sound.